FUTA Alumni to Set-Up Career Initiative Centre

Federal University of Technology, Akure, FUTA Alumni plans to set up a Career Initiative Centre  to train 400 and 500 level students.
A Career Initiative Centre will soon be established at the Federal University of Technology, Akure to train 400 and 500 level students in areas like Mining and Agriculture and equip them with life skills. The Centre, an initiative of the new executive of the University Alumni is designed to give students of FUTA life skills and make them more competitive in the scheme of things after graduation.
Unveiling the content of programme of the new executives of the University Alumni, its president Honourable Ayinla Olanrewaju Musbau said the Centre will commence activities in January, 2016. Ayinla made this known when he led the new executives on a courtesy visit to the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Adebiyi Daramola recently. Speaking further, he said the University Alumni through the leading of its executive will establish an Alumni Garden which will consist of a hotel and a resort.
Responding, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Adebiyi Daramola congratulated the past executive for the smooth running of the organization and smooth transition to another executive without acrimony, adding that the completion and commission of the association’s secretariat was a major feat achieved during their tenure.
Welcoming the new executive, he appreciated the plans they have for their members and assured them of the management’s support in all areas. He said “the request for a portion of land for the Alumni Garden is granted”
Daramola charged the members of executive to ensure that other alumni branches in Nigeria and other countries are functioning, adding that the success of Alumni Association is measured by the number of members and branches.
He also charged them to work in actualizing the mentorship career initiative as it will help motivate the students and help them leverage on their academic achievement.
The New Executive and their portfolio are:
National President – Hon. Ayinla Olanrewaju Musbau
National Vice President – Mrs. Bola Ajayi
National Financial Secretary – Mr. Orhioru Ogheneoro
National Treasurer – Dr. O. O. Olubanjo
National General Secretary – Mr. Jimson Olatunde
National Public Relations Officer – Mr. Akintade Taiwo

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.