LASU 21st Convocation Ceremony Programme of Events For 2016/2017

The Lagos State University, LASU 21st convocation ceremony programme of events and invitation.

On behalf of the Management and Staff, Lagos State University Ojo, the Vice- Chancellor, Professor Olanrewaju
Adigun Fagbohun, hereby informs all Graduands, Parents/Guardians, University Community and the General Public of the programme of events for the 20th Convocation Ceremonies as follows:


The activities of the 21st Convocation Ceremonies which is the crux for today’s gathering i.e. Press Briefing is as states below:
DAY 1 – Thursday, 16th March, 2017
Convocation Press Conference
Venue: 3-in-1 Conference Hall, Faculty of Education, Ojo, Lagos
DAY 2- Friday, 17th March, 2017
Jumat Service
Venue: University Mosque, Ojo,
Time: 1:00pm
DAY 3 – Sunday, 19th March, 2017
Special Thanksgiving Service
Venue: University Chapel (Chapel of Light), Ojo, Lagos
Time: 10:00am prompt
DAY 4 – Monday, 20th March, 2017
Coconut Breaking Festival
Venue: Badagry Gate Entrance,
Time: 9:30am prompt
Command Performance by the Department of Theatre Arts and Music
Convocation Play: The Spirit of Lagos Written By: Prof. Akinwunmi Ishola & Directed By: Dr. Sola Fosudo
Time: 2:00pm
DAY 5 – Tuesday, 21st March, 2017
Convocation Lecture Topic:
Beyond Education: Bridging the Gap for Graduate Employability.
Convocation Lecturer: Mr. Hakeem Ogunniran, Managing Director/Chief Executive, UACN Property Development Company, PLC
Venue: University Auditorium Complex, Ojo
Time: 2:00pm
DAY 6 – Wednesday, 22nd March, 2017
Award of First Degrees and Diplomas in all Faculties and Induction of Alumni
Venue: University Auditorium Complex, Ojo
Time: 10:00am
DAY 7- Thursday, 23rd March, 2017
Commissioning of:
  1. The New Senate Building
  2. Ground Breaking Ceremony of 6000 capacity LASU Ultra-Modern Hostel Facilities by His Excellency, the Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Akinwunmi AMBODE – 9:00am
  3. Graduands’ Procession – 9:30am
  4. Academic Procession – 9:45am
  5. Award of Higher AND Honorary Doctorate Degrees and Conferment of Rank of Distinguished Professor – 10:00am
Venue: University Auditorium Complex, Ojo
For several years, the University refrained from giving Honorary Awards. This year, the University will be awarding some eminent personalities with honorary awards during this Convocation Ceremony. These individuals are being awarded for their enormous contributions to the betterment of the society. These individuals are:
  1. Alhaji Aliko Dangote, MFR, GCON – Honorary Doctorate Degree of Business (Hon. D. B.)
  2. Chief Adebutu A. Kessington – Honorary Doctorate Degree of Science – Communication (Hon. D. Sc.)
The University has also instituted award to the rank of Distinguished Professor. For this year, we have found Professor Peter Akinsola Okebukola worthy of this rank of Distinguished Professor.